you're reading...
Popular Science Writing, Science Writing Topics, Technology

Identity Theft, Internet Scammers, and Idiocy


Written By: Laurel Rogers

I am here to let others know of my idiocy when it comes to Internet scammers.

internet scammers

Don’t be tricked by internet scammers.

I was recently phoned out of the proverbial blue by an organization called “The World Wide Who’s Who” found here http://www.whoswhoregistry.org/, and almost fell head long into their criminal trap.

Please know that I am a reasonably intelligent woman who prides herself in knowing the true intentions of others.

I was wrong.  Dead wrong.

Rather than suspecting this phone conversation was a con, I fell for it ‘hook line, and sinker’, feeling that ‘Rhonda’ was sincere and with a reputable organization.

She was not.“The World Wide Who’s Who Registry” will phone you with complimentary words and glowing ego-boosting talk.  They will telephone you out of nowhere and ask if you would participate in a telephone interview.  If they feel you are ‘qualified’, they will announce this to you and suggest you pay them $100- in order to be placed in their registry book and to receive various glass sundries and wall-hangings.

BEIJING, CHINA - DECEMBER 22:  Boon-Lock Yeo, ...

BEIJING, CHINA – DECEMBER 22: Boon-Lock Yeo, Engineering Director of Google, delivers a speech at the 2009 Beijing Internet Development Forum at the State Congress Center on December 22, 2009 in Beijing, China. According to a report issued by the China Internet Network Information Center (CNNIC), the number of Chinese internet users reached 338 million by the end of June. (Image credit: Getty Images via @daylife)

Do not be as idiotic as I was. Who in their right mind would pay for recognition?

One earns this on their own!

Purchasing recognition is an absurd concept and one I did not catch until it was far too late. I have managed to retrieve my bank account and credit card information, but now I must change everything, and I do mean everything in my life.

I have written to the Attorney General, phoned the local sheriff, and done other things to protect myself, but I am now ‘dead-bolting’ my doors at night which I have never done before in my tiny community of Bishop, California.  This piece of information is now theirs, so I am able to give it here on Freelance Science Writing without a care.

They have managed to infect my hard drive to the critical level.  I plan to purchase a new system, but am without funds due to their criminal activity.  I have a 19 month old grandson who is in danger of going hungry due to their activities.

I will, however, find a way to keep him healthy, fed and clothed. Thank you for your time and attention, and don’t be as gullible as I.

via Identity Theft, Internet Scammers, and Idiocy.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Richard Nelson

Freelance science writing all day and night. I'm an expert at writing, marketing, and publishing. Providing writing services nearly everyday, SEO rich articles about science and tech are my specialties. I also love to make money so I'm for hire as an independent communications expert and business consultant with specializations in project management, writing, science, and engineering. With a vast network of professionals in various fields backed by two degrees, 180 credits hours, 6 graduate courses and several awards and recommendations along the way, who could go wrong?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Identity Theft, Internet Scammers, and Idiocy

  1. There are plenty of unscruplous people around who will try to adopt your identity in order to get what they want (normally money). And while it doesn’t help if you do what I do – publish not only your email address and phone number on your website, but also a map on how to get to your house on foot – trying to conceal your identity from everyone is not the answer either.”

    My current blog
    <'http://www.prettygoddess.com

    Posted by Elizabet Mazurek | April 1, 2013, 11:05 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Nodding off? Might want to read | Free Power - May 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

Solutions for Entrepreneurs, Tech Savvy People, and Writers

Solutions for Entrepreneurs, Tech Savvy People, and Writers

Please Show Support

