you're reading...
Freelance Writing Basics, Popular Science Writing, Science Journalism, Science Writing Courses, Science Writing Resources, Science Writing Tips, Science Writing Topics

Independent Science Writer on Social Media Widgets


Infographic on how Social Media are being used...

Infographic on how Social Media are being used, and how everything is changed by them. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Step 1– Place Chime.In widget onto a wordpress.com blog.

I may be the first independent science writer in history to have this problem. This was a tough assignment and too tough to attempt, I might add. There is not a Chime.in widget underneath the FB widget because of a tag called the iframe.

Hours, and I mean lots of them, were used to figure out that iframes are not secure enough for public domain blogs. I would like to mention that I agree with this outcome, however, a little warning would have been nice.

Choosing which social media widgets to place on my blog has been a real eye opening experience as an independent science writer. This is because no independent science writer from any other generation has had this option. It’s remarkable, the amount of free exposure I can get with just the press of a button. Other generations had to miss out and still do. There are very few niche marketing sites that have quality science content; in some cases we are talking $6 to $10 dollars a word for your writing.

The amount of ways to get exposure and earn money from writing has exploded since I started college back in 2000. From blogs to scripts, science has become a part of everyday life and people want more of it. The web is a great place to freely advertise your expertise and social media widgets help spread the news. But they are not foolproof and will not solve that many problems, just another tool to try out, incorporate and discard if necessary.

I was supposed to “chime in” my results so that the social media site could promote my blog as one of the first to have the new widget. The code for the widget is built with an iframe tag which is not allowed on through the services of wordpress.com. I still love the ease and ability I have with the company and would recommend my set up to anyone looking for a quick solution to web presence. Social media widgets are everywhere and if I cannot use one I’ll get around it.

Don’t forget to subscribe and leave a comment we would love to hear for you.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Richard Nelson

Freelance science writing all day and night. I'm an expert at writing, marketing, and publishing. Providing writing services nearly everyday, SEO rich articles about science and tech are my specialties. I also love to make money so I'm for hire as an independent communications expert and business consultant with specializations in project management, writing, science, and engineering. With a vast network of professionals in various fields backed by two degrees, 180 credits hours, 6 graduate courses and several awards and recommendations along the way, who could go wrong?

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Independent Science Writer on Social Media Widgets

  1. You’ve got a great start with this website. I love all the widgets you provide. It’s also not just a blog. You offer scientific information, products, services, and even potential employment. I’m excited to see the growth that this website experiences in the coming months.

    Posted by Deanna Brownlee | May 1, 2012, 10:16 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Power Can Destroy and Create | Free Power - April 15, 2012

  2. Pingback: Pinterest is Taking Over « Tech Gear News - April 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

Solutions for Entrepreneurs, Tech Savvy People, and Writers

Solutions for Entrepreneurs, Tech Savvy People, and Writers

Please Show Support

